Missouri inmates to start paying sales taxes in February

by Chuck January 30, 2014

Missouri paying sales taxes in February

Missouri paying sales taxes in February

Starting February 1st, Missouri inmates will need to paying sales taxes on purchases at prison canteens and commissaries, just as if they were free citizens. This change is a result of Missouri lawmakers reviewing the state’s current laws for sales taxes.

Sales to penal institutions are exempt from sales taxes and lawmakers assumed that this exemption carried through to sales to the prisoners. However, after further review, Missouri lawmakers decided that the exemption shouldn’t apply to prisoners and they will now need to pay the state’s 4.225 % sales tax rate. State auditors expect to collect a little over $1 million in extra revenue because of this change.

Sales to penal institutions are exempt from sales taxes and lawmakers assumed that this exemption carried through to sales to the prisoners. However, after further review, Missouri lawmakers decided that the exemption shouldn’t apply to prisoners and they will now need to pay the state’s 4.225 % sales tax rate. State auditors expect to collect a little over $1 million in extra revenue because of this change. Sales to penal institutions are exempt from sales taxes and lawmakers assumed that this exemption carried through to sales to the prisoners. However, after further review, Missouri lawmakers decided that the exemption shouldn’t apply to prisoners and they will now need to pay the state’s 4.225 % sales tax rate. State auditors expect to collect a little over $1 million in extra revenue because of this change.

Read more at the Daily Journal Online

Chuck
Chuck


Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.